Post-Thanksgiving Detox

I don’t regret all the starchy, fatty things I ate during Thanksgiving. Not one bit. Not even the red velvet pancakes I made from scratch (I’ll be sharing the LGC recipe next week). I didn’t over do it this Thanksgiving, but I do feel a bit puffy from eating out of my normal regiment.

If you feel the same, the good news is that you still have time to do something about it. The puffiness is usually a result of the excess salt, starch, and sugar that retains water. It’s not permanent unless you let it be!

To help get rid of that holiday bloat and get back into your regularly fancy and fit self, join me in detoxing. I started this week and I promise it gets better by Day 3, which is today for me. Usually Day 1 is the hardest for me because breads and sugary goodness (and wine) seem to chase me down the halls, call me name, pin me down, and insert themselves into my mouth. I can’t help it!

To be clear, a detox is not a cleanse. I’m not drinking my food for the next week. I’m just eating clean, which means protein, lots of clean veggies, and a grain. I need a grain. You may not think you need the carbs, but I do in order to push myself in my workouts.

I personally love green juices after a weekend of gluttony. They’re quite purifying, especially one that’s made with kale, spinach, carrot, lemon juice, and ginger. Mmmm.

Are you detoxing this week? How’s it going? Let me know and I’ll make sure to check in on you!

5 thoughts on “Post-Thanksgiving Detox

    • It actually helps me not over indulge. I know that there will be some days that I’m going to treat myself to a cheat, but overall I’ve come to the understanding that I don’t need it. Still, SO HARD!

      On Wed, Nov 28, 2012 at 1:14 PM, LeanGirlsClub – for fitness, food, and

  1. Oy, I just tried a green juice yesterday at a juice store near the office. Kale, spinach, celery, carrots, apple and ginger. I did not like it. I think it’s the ginger and/or the celery. I will try another one today without those two ingredients and replace them with a pear and maybe something else. I’m thinking of doing the Clean Cleanse for three weeks. Have you ever done that one? Any advice on it? Sending lovely thoughts over to the other coast. šŸ™‚

    • Celery is probably my least favorite vegetable to put into a green juice. I love ginger, but also know it’s an acquired taste. Try pear or a green apple. Did you go to Rovio? Or provio? That’s the one I go to when I’m in Santa Monica šŸ™‚

      I’ve never tried the Clean Cleanse. My biggest peeve with cleanses is that I like to chew…even if I chew rabbit food šŸ™‚ and doctors always hate on them and say that they’re bad for you so my one advice would be to check with yours before investing in the program. Also, the last one I did messed up my digestive system so I think I’m pretty scarred from that.

      On Wed, Nov 28, 2012 at 2:06 PM, LeanGirlsClub – for fitness, food, and

Leave a Reply

