Scene On the Run: No Marathon

There was no marathon. As I’m sure you’ve heard, Mayor Bloomberg canceled the race on Friday afternoon (5:30 pm) saying the race was “divisive” and building animosity towards runners and the event itself.

Of course I’m bummed but I’m not disappointed. While I said I would run if the race would’ve happened, this was the right call and it should’ve made earlier. I was selfishly relieved because I, and many runners, were torn and heavy hearted while we also believed the race would be good for the city. Alas, it’s over and done. There will be other years and many other marathons. Unfortunately others can’t say that. I count my blessings.

I’m still raising money for the Red Cross through Crowdrise. While I can no longer give you a cut of my heat sheet, I now offer to run a mile for each person who donates. Equally, if not more important…please donate blood, batteries, blankets, food, diapers, pet food. I know it’s a bit overwhelming so if you’d like more info on how you can get involved (even if you’re not in the NY/NJ area) please leave a comment or email me and I will help you get plugged in. Unfortunately the needs will not go away after this week. Many of those affected will be dealing with the Sandy aftermath for months, even years. So donate whatever you can and I will run a mile for you too…I’d love to be challenged to run 100 miles 😉

Scene on the run this weekend…

20121105-014926.jpg

20121105-014944.jpg

20121105-015011.jpg

20121105-015019.jpg

20121105-015030.jpg

20121105-015038.jpg

20121105-015046.jpg

Notice I went on a mini food tour. Yeah, I basically read “marathon canceled” and immediately grabbed all the white sugar I could find and ate everything I’d given up for 40 days in about 40 minutes.

Happy Monday.

2 thoughts on “Scene On the Run: No Marathon

    • I was out of town this past week. It looks like a bunch of would-be NYC runners ran this past weekend. How’d you do? Congrats finisher! I’m taking my time looking for the next one 🙂

Leave a Reply

