Butternut Squash Mac and Cheeze

My eating has been the cleanest it’s ever been. I haven’t had any alcohol in 40 days (I love wine – this is a big deal) and very little to no bread, flour, white sugar, and anything that’s considered “bad” for you. I really do believe one of the reasons I feel prepared for the NYC Marathon in 11 days is because of the clean eating. I don’t have the sugar or salt weighing me down. My palette is super sensitive to things and certain things that I used to like, like the Starbucks pumpkin spice latte, don’t taste good to me. And I thought my palette was sensitive before! So when a eating lover as myself can’t find pleasure in food, she gets creative ad tries new things like this vegan Mac and Cheeze.

The pasta is a brown rice elbow macaroni (who knew there was brown rice pasta?!) and the Cheeze is puréed butternut squash, Dijon mustard, nutritional yeast, Earth balance, and almond milk. It isn’t cheese but it’s a good alternative. I also added some raw kale and crushed red pepper flakes. In the future I think I will add some meat or beans…obviously the meat will not make it vegan!

20121023-220309.jpg

20121023-220335.jpg

20121023-220356.jpg

20121023-220505.jpg

20121023-220517.jpg

20121023-220533.jpg

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Mac and Cheeze

  1. looks yummy! i made a pumpkin “cheese” sauce recently, but need to try it with butternut squash! and, more importantly, good luck on the nyc marathon!!! i didn’t get in this year 😦 just as well because i have a pretty bad case of runner’s knee that doesn’t seem to be improving…

    • We’ll have to exchange recipes and experiment together. Just discovered your blog and am now following it. I’m just starting to cook more in my tiny NYC kitchen as well 🙂 And thanks for the kind words re: the marathon!

Leave a Reply

