Running Shirtless

One of my goals in life has been to run without a shirt. It’s not because I’m promiscuous or want to show off my body. But rather, it’s always been a symbol of freedom for me- freedom from caring what others think of me and being comfortable with who I am and what I look like.

I ran shirtless for the first time. For some reason, I woke up to run and decided not to put on a shirt. I just didn’t feel the need. There were people out. It was sunny. I couldn’t hide. Eeek!

Let me tell you, running shirtless makes you mindful of your core. It forces you to engage every muscle and it actually makes one run faster.  Try it, even if it’s running in place in your bedroom.

For one day I felt fearless. That attitude carried though the day, and lots of positive things were set into motion. I’m not superstitious, but I do believe a combination of a fearless attitude and just a minor change in my daily routine propelled me to approach my day differently thus leading to different results.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Running Shirtless

  1. Good for you!! I’ve been way to self-conscious to even think of it but have wanted to on days that are too hot. I don’t think anyone else cares or is even looking at us – it’s just all in our heads.

  2. Awesome, girl! Glad you did it! I’m still building up to that place. I wear a bikini on the beach with no problem, but for some reason, I just don’t get out there and run shirtless. Good for you!

    • lovelylici1986- it’s something about being the only one shirtless that makes us very aware of ourselves. I can’t wear a bikini, but I realize there’s a comfort in knowing that others are half naked as well. Let’s declare to be bold and not afraid!

  3. Can’t claim to be all that lean, and am certainly not a girl – but ‘good on you’, as the Aussies say. Stay shirtless; in case you need further inspiration (though it would seem you have ‘converted’ already), swing by my blog.

    If you wish to send in a guest post, I’d be happy to ‘run’ it.

Leave a Reply

