Work (It) Out

I’m sure you’ve noticed the lack of posts. And I know I use work as an excuse for not blogging so I won’t use it again. But in general, I’ve noticed that we (I included) use work or life as an excuse a lot.

“I can’t go to the gym because I don’t have time. “

“I don’t have the energy after work.”

“I can’t eat a sensible, well balanced meal because I’m always on the go and have to eat what I can get.”

“There’s a lot going on in my life right now.”

Does this sound familiar?

I was watching American Idol last week and admiring J.Lo. I love her.  She’s amazing and is stunning EVERY TIME. To which my boyfriend says, “I know, you say it every time. Of course she’s stunning, it’s her job to be stunning. If your job was to exercise and eat right, you’d look like that too.”

That’s arguable. But he’s on to something there. I work really hard at work. Or at least I think I do. But what if I were to put in the same principles and effort that I apply towards work into myself? What would that look like?

  • Show up on time.
  • Stick to a schedule – be consistent with when you work out, when you eat, when you rest…
  • Set meetings – schedule workout meetings with yourself. It’s rude to cancel on other people. Why would you cancel on yourself?
  • Focus – just like you shouldn’t surf the web, FB, chat during work don’t text, stare blankly, or workout without a purpose.
  • Have a plan – I have to plan months/weeks advance my plan for a project.  Plan out what you’re going to eat ahead of time so you’re not tempted to cheat and venture away from your goals.
  • 100% – give it all you got. Just like your boss hopes you don’t half-ass your way through work, put the expectation on yourself that you won’t half ass your way through working on YOU.
  • Be aggressive – you don’t “no” for an answer at work. Don’t let your body tell you “no.” Make it change. Keep pushing until it will change.
  • Fix it – if problems arise, rise to the challenge and address it. Don’t cry. Fix it. Work It Out. It’s called work for a reason. And it’s called a work out for a reason, because you have to work.
  • Work with the best (that you can afford)- Choose the best trainer, eat the best foods, etc. Don’t short change yourself.

My point is that it’s YOUR JOB to take care of yourself just like J.Lo. YOU are more important than anything else (within reason…don’t be overly selfish now). Now get to work.

11 thoughts on “Work (It) Out

  1. What a great post. You’re so right. I make these excuses all the time. I’ll print the principles and put them on my fridge. It just needs to “click” in my head. It worked before. It has to work again. Thanks for the post. 🙂

  2. sooo funny you mentioned J.Lo. My friend and I were literally just discussing her compared to other 40 year old women out there and how it’s her job to look beautiful!

  3. Brilliant, Grace! Can I use this model to write on my blog regarding creating space in my life for writing? I will source you! 🙂

  4. This is soo true for me. I have started scheduling my gym classes, that was the easy part, the hard part is actually sticking to it.

    • I’m with you, Tanisha! I’ve always found it harder to cancel on the appointment if I have to meet someone there. Do you have a gym buddy? It’s also more fun because you think you’re going to “hang out” with someone.

Leave a Reply

