The Winner is…The Summer of New…

Jenny is the winner of the Birthday Bonanza Giveaway. Congrats Jenny! As luck would have it, Jenny just celebrated her own birthday as well. I was reminded of this when I checked out her blog. Let’s all wish Jenny a happy birthday.

Speaking of birthdays, thank you all for the birthday wishes. I can’t tell you how overwhelmed and grateful I was with all the various messages, cards, etc from people all over the world wishing me a happy birthday. This is going to be a great summer and a great year because I’m determined to make this a year of NEW. Often times in our nutrition and fitness regimens, we get locked into a routine. It’s comfortable. We know it works for us. But eventually “it” stops working. Eat the same nutritious dinner every day? Boring. Lift the same dumbbell over and over and your body won’t change. Being comfortable is a bad thing! It prevents the good things from having the opportunity to enter your life.

So out with the old and in with the new. This summer is going to bring new experiences, new foods onto my plate, and new exercises into my routine. Starting with…

My new tomato plant! I don’t know if I have a green thumb or a black thumb, but I have a thumb and I’m determined to use it to grow tomatoes and eventually herbs on my fire escape. NYC living doesn’t allow for too much gardening, so we’ll see how this works out. Growing your own veggies and herbs is one of the best ways to eat healthy. Not only is it fresh and tasty, but you have more control over what goes on your plate. If you have any gardening or tomato plant tips, please leave a comment!

Bike riding!!  Besides running, most of my physical activity takes place in-doors at the gym. Why? All winter long we can’t wait for warm weather. Let’s take advantage of this heat and spend more time being active outdoors. My friend Nelle and I randomly ended up bike riding in Central Park. Notice the dresses we’re still wearing from work?

Lastly, this will be the summer of new recipes. Ok, so fruit salad isn’t really a new recipe. But usually I make them with apples, bananas, and grapes. This time I thought I’d try the summer fruits. I cut up 1 medium pineapple, 6 peaches, a pound of strawberries, a pint of blueberries, and 3 mangos. It was delicious! I think I’ll take it to my friend Doug’s BBQ this weekend so I don’t inhale cheeseburgers.

What’s something new that you want to try this summer? A new recipe? A new fitness class at the gym? Just do it!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Winner is…The Summer of New…

  1. I determined to make this year a year of NEW for me, too. When I turned 37 in April I wrote a list of “37 things to do when I am 37.” So far I have crossed many things off my list. 🙂

    • Oooh~ I am so curious to learn what those 37 things are! That’s so encouraging. I’ll have to do that for this summer too. On the top of that list: cooking lessons at the Social Table, trapeze, and the Great Urban Race.

  2. I just read an article about a woman who was arrested in New York for riding a bike in a dress. Was that you?

    Joel probably has some tomato-growing tips. He and Kristin were growing them like gangbusters last summer!

    • Ha! I believe that woman was ticketed because her skirt was too short and it was “dangerous” to ride with it on. My dress was below the knees which I was going to say is very clear, but for some reason the photo didn’t post. I definitely noticed though that the dress kept hiking up and the wind blowing up the skirt created a balloon. I got very distracted because I was worried I would give the runners in Central Park a free show! So now I definitely know why it’s dangerous!

      And yes, please have Joel send some tomato-growing tips! One tomato finally turned red yesterday. Practically overnight. Not sure if I’m ready to pick it yet but it’s exciting!

Leave a Reply

