Family Time

Hope you all had a wonderful Father’s Day. I actually went to visit my dad in Virginia. Normally when I travel, I always try to fit in a work out. I never go anywhere without packing running shoes and some work out clothes. Even though I packed several workout outfits, I didn’t use any of them. That’s me and my brother at the First Annual Clifton Wine Festival. Yup! I passed up running to hang out with my brother.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My brother and I rarely get to be home together at the same time. While working out is usually the priority for me, when given the option to hang out with my family, family should come first I’ve learned. We all take family for granted. Not that we abuse or neglect our family members, although some are guilty of that too, but we just assume that they’ll be there tomorrow, the next day, and the year after.

The sad truth is that they won’t be there forever. So when given the opportunity, make sure to spend as much time as you can with your family and loved ones whether it be throwing the football around or at the dinner table. Although most of our culture revolves around meals, they don’t have include things like this…

This is the delicious crab cake sandwich I had at the Wine Festival 🙂

In the past I would’ve freaked out that I hadn’t worked out in three days. But instead, I compensated for the lack of exercise by not stuffing my face like I normally would have. For some reason, until this weekend I’ve never been able to exercise self control when I’m visiting my folks. I don’t know if it’s the comfort of being with mom and dad or if it’s because I try to take in as much Korean food as possible because I never eat it in NYC. My trainer Justin keeps repeating (aka brain washing me) that I need to start thinking of food as fuel. It was difficult at first but realizing that food is fuel helps me cut the emotional ties to food. If I know that I don’t have to run, jump or lift weights, my brain signals to the rest of my body that I don’t need as much fuel.

If you have to indulge and enjoy a crab cake every now and then, there’s nothing wrong with that. Just make sure to hit the gym soon when you’re back to your regular routing. You know I’ll be in the gym now that I’m back in NYC 😉

Have a great way that you can spend time with family AND exercise? Share your tips by leaving a comment.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Family Time

  1. My dad and I ran a 5 mile race in Central Park on Sunday to celebrate Father’s Day. 🙂 Mom cheered on the sidelines as he and I ran across the finishline hand in hand! Such an amazing day!

    • Marcie- that’s probably one of the best ways I can think of to spend time with your family! What an accomplishment to have crossed the finish line together. Love it! Now if I could only convince my dad (or mom) to run 4 miles with me…

Leave a Reply

