Yoplait Thinks Twice About Yogurt Commercial

The Huffington Post is reporting that Yoplait has agreed to pull its recent yogurt commercials this week at the urging of the National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA). The NEDA believes that the commercial might trigger dangerous behavior in those with eating disorders.

My initial reaction was “WHAT? This is  ridiculous!” I truly believe that sometimes we are too sensitive. The reality is that many people stand in front of their fridge, or sit at the table of the restaurant, deliberating what they should eat versues what they want to eat. This is absolutely natural!  And for people who work out hard, it’s the reality we face. Is that cookie really worth an extra 10 minutes on the treadmill?

But after some further thought, I understand what the NEDA is trying to say. Sometimes I worry TOO much about the food choices I make. And I know I’m not the only one. There’s nothing wrong with passing up dessert or choosing to eat a salad, but sometimes obsessing over food choices can be debilitating. When we think of food in terms of good or bad, or number of calories, we get caught up in perfection. We translate good food choices for being “good people” and eating a certain amount of calories as a number of our self worth. Or when we go over that number, we start to think of ourselves as failures.

There’s a fine line that we Lean Girls have to walk. The point is to look at food as fuel- fuel that allows you to go running, rowing, shopping, etc.  But also allow food to be A source of pleasure. Not THE source of pleasure. Are you making certain food decisions because you know eating them will make you feel good? Or are you deciding to not eat a certain item to withhold something from yourself because you don’t deserve it? I used to obsess over everything that went in my mouth, whether it was good or bad. But ever since I stopped weighing myself (per Justin, not by choice), I’ve regained some sanity. I’m not perfect but now I concentrate more on how certain foods make me feel. It drives me bananas that I don’t know what I weigh, but I’ve also never been more relaxed or as fit as I am today.

I’m not the best person to advise on this topic for various reasons: 1. I’m not a nutritionist, therapist, or any sort of licensed professional. 2. I struggle with food choices still! There are many times I go back-and-forth when deciding what to eat. “Yes, I’ll take ice cream. Nevermind, forget it. Actually, yes. No, ignore me.” It causes those around me to scream “just eat it!” You know who you are 🙂  I share this story about Yoplait with you so you check yourself and your eating habits. There are not only so many others things to worry about in this world, but also many many many more good things on which to occupy your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Yoplait Thinks Twice About Yogurt Commercial

  1. One thing I’ve found that helps is to shift your focus to all the foods you CAN eat. Make a list and try to keep most of it around you. That way of thinking really helps me feel less deprived. Of course, concentrating your energy on anything positive always helps. It’s the same principle we use while exercising – focus on all the energy you have instead of how tired you are.

    • That’s such a helpful suggestion- you’re absolutely right. When we tell ourselves we CAN’T have something, we want it so much more. “Everything is permissible but not everything is beneficial.”

Leave a Reply

