California, Girls, Is Unforgettable

I’ve been in California nine days on business working with Boney James, Carl Thomas, and Ledisi. Somehow in between morning TV, promotional events, going to the studio, and meetings I somehow managed to find a way to work out every day. Woohoo! Whether it was a run or a visit to a local gym, I made working out a priority. Thank God I did because I also ate and drank my way through California. My stomach started rebelling on Monday night.

When I travel, I tend to over eat because I want to get in as much of the local flavor. In California, I couldn’t get enough of the smoothies from BodyFactory (the PB&J was my favorite), sushi from Katsuya, wine, and Mexican from Gardens de Taxco. Every meal was extravagant. I ate till I was full… at every meal.

I broke every rule/habit on this trip. I normally never drinks smoothies because I know how high the sugar content is. I love wine but I don’t drink it every night because it stops fat loss. And Mexican food is definitely a treat. Lastly, I hate the feeling of fullness. It’s uncomfortable and I hate it.

There’s nothing wrong with indulging and enjoying the local cuisine. I’ve gained three pounds on this trip to prove how much I enjoyed it 🙂 It’s all part of the experience. But remember that it’s a part of the experience and not the whole experience. We have five senses for a reason. Taste is only one of them.

LEAN GIRL TIP: When traveling and exploring new cities, fill your “plate” with the sights, sounds, smell, and feel of the city rather than with just food. Here are pictures of what was on my plate. Enjoy! I hope they feed your soul 😉

Me running around Rancho Bernardo Inn taking in the sights. If you’re ever in San Diego, I highly recommend staying at the Rancho Bernardo Inn.

The grounds at Rancho Bernardo Inn. It’s a golf lover’s dream. If you’re not a golf fan, there’s a spa that’s heavenly.

The orange trees all over California. If I had an orange tree, or any tree that bore fruit, I’d have no problem incorporating more fruit in my diet.

The beautiful beaches of Malibu. I would live here if I lived in California.

My friend Scott took me to a great (unhealthy) restaurant in Malibu called Paradise Cove. I was fascinated with the lobster that told us when our table was ready.

This is where Arnold Schwarzenegger trained as a body builder. I didn’t take a picture because of him. I was just imaginging what it would be like to work out on the beach at Venice.

I made a new friend in Venice 🙂

Lastly, I had to share this photo. I went to the WE TV “Braxton Family Values” premiere my first night in LA…alone. Everyone at the party thought it was sad that I came alone but it’s ok! The party was exactly what I imagined LA parties to be like so I left right after Toni Braxton and sisters arrived. Toni was stunning.

GIVEAWAY: Leave a comment and you’ll be entered to win my giftbag which includes a copy of the first episode of “Braxton Family Values” and a NYX lip gloss palette.

photo credit: gracekelle

14 thoughts on “California, Girls, Is Unforgettable

  1. Grace, I’m consistently inspired by you. You’ve had such a positive outlook and it just keeps going. I’m so glad you got to experience some wonderful things there (including the sun!!!). You’re forever an inspiration.

  2. oh my gosh. I can not wait to see you and hear all the details about your trip. It looks like you had a great time and it was a success all around! So happy for you that you were able to workout every day, that’s awesome!

    FYI – I tagged you on my blog yesterday with the Stylish Blogger Award, so you now have to tell us all 7 interesting/random facts about yourself!

    (And I agree with Brianne 100%!)

  3. Thanks for the inspiration about traveling! I will be taking a vacation to SD next week and I know that I will have to be a little “lenient” with myself. I like how you do not let the indulgences you had during this trip dictate how you feel about yourself. Brava! May we all get to this point. 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing the pics Gracie-Lou! I’m glad you got to spend some time in the sun but I’m even more glad that you’re back in NY where you belong!

  5. Hi Grace! I came over to say hi and was sent here by Lisa at Early Morning Run’s site. Your pics of CA look beautiful. I used to live in CA and I miss the weather, especially during rainy, cloudy weeks like we are having in Wisconsin right now.

    • So nice to meet you! Just subscribed to your blog. I’m so impressed that you are able to stay fit in the midwest. Every time I visit the midwest I’m tempted to have deep dish pizza and horse shoes 🙂

  6. Pingback: 7 Things of a Stylish Blogger « Lean Girls Club

Leave a Reply

