Recipe: My Favorite Supergreen Kale

I ❤ Kale. There aren’t words to describe my affection for kale so only a heart emoticon will do. I ❤ it so much I don’t have get too creative (which is good because I’m not the most skilled chef). I steam it and throw in some crushed tomatoes, garlic and lemon juice to use it as a side dish. If I want something heartier, I mix the steamed kale with ground turkey and chili pepper flakes.

After my devastating last weigh-in my boot camp partner Rebecca, also a kale aficianado, took me out for brunch at Northern Spy Food Co. in the East Village to try a kale dish she’s been raving about. It was delicious and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since. Luckily Tasting Table shared the recipe  and we can all recreate it at home.

Northern Spy Food Co. Kale Salad (courtesy of Tasting Table)

(makes 2 servings)

  • 2.5 cups chopped or shredded kale (preferably Tuscan or black kale)
  • 1/4 cup toasted almonds
  • 1/4 cup crumbled Cabot clothbound cheddar (or any good, aged cheddar)
  • 1/2 cup cubed roasted kabocha or butternut squash
  • fresh lemon juice
  • extra-virgin olive oil
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • Pecorino or other hard cheese, for shaving (optional)

1. In a large mixing bowl, toss the kale with the almonds, cheddar and squash. Season to taste with lemon juice and olive oil (approximately 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 2 tablespoons olive oil). Season to taste with sale and pepper.

2. Divide salad between two plates or shallow bowls. Garnish shaved pecorino cheese, if desired, and serve.

At the restaurant you can order the salad with sunnyside eggs, which of course I did because brunch is not brunch for me without eggs. And if you want a little kick like Rebecca and me, add hot sauce – it’s divine.

Photo credit: gracekelle

Do you like kale? Or what are some of your favorite greens and how do you eat them?

5 thoughts on “Recipe: My Favorite Supergreen Kale

  1. Nice post, you know I can go on and on about kale and my obsession with it. I made this salad three times already this week. Also threw in chicken and chia seeds instead of the eggs two of the days. I bet tuna would be good too. My other fav recipe is the kale, tomatoes, onions, garlic, crushed red peppers, ground turkey, and chicken stock. (almost what you listed). That what I eat for most lunches.

  2. Mmm. Kale. I actually have a big kale plant in a pot in my kitchen, although it’s growing all crazy. It looks like a kale tree. True story. But I’ll have to pull some leaves off and give this a try!

  3. I have been making “chips” in the oven with kale. I like to drizzle olive oil, sea salt and just a hint of vinegar on them before I pop them in the oven.

Leave a Reply

