Taboo Topic: Constipation

There are some things that people, even women, don’t like to talk about:

  • their weight
  • their finances
  • anything involving their rear end. That includes the butt, poop, farts, cellulite, and constipation.

Constipation is the state in which bowel movements be.come… in.fre.quent…..or di…ffi…cult. Check out this article on WebMD for the science behind Constipation.

Constipation stinks. I experienced this recently after eating (delicious) wings and beer with some friends. (I’m sure those who were with me that day are really excited they’re reading this). I felt bloated, gassy, and my bowel movement was off for three days! Worst of all, I went for my weigh in Thursday morning with my trainer and was four pounds heavier than my last weigh in.

Needless to say, I was a mental/emotional wreck all day because of my  poor weigh in. I started to have those negative thoughts again: “You’re going to be struggle with your weight forever” and “You just undid all your hard work with those wings.” And then I had an epiphany about the fact that I hadn’t gone to the bathroom.

For being people that think a lot about what we put in our bodies, we think very little of what comes out of it. I am not a nutritionist, licensed dietician or a physician so my comments about this topic are my opinions and my (logical) progression of thoughts. Whatever you put into your body, eventually must come out. It’s a variation of “what goes up, must come down” or Newton’s Third Law: “For every action, there is an equal and opposite re-action.” That is what digestion is – it’s your body’s reaction to the food you ate or “the mechanical and chemical breaking down of food into smaller  components to a form that can be absorbed by our bodies” (The Medical News).

I think back to the days when I was extremely overweight and inactive, and I recall not going to the bathroom every day. And whatever did come out, it was nowhere near the volume of food that I ate. Where did it go?

If whatever I ate hasn’t come out, I figure that it’s still in me. If it’s still inside of me, then it must contribute to my weight  (and size) whether or not it’s been converted to fat yet. Eureka! So how do I get the scale down? I must get my body to extract its waste.

How do I do that?

  • Eat fiber-rich foods. I find that natural, fiber-rich foods work better than fiber-enriched foods.
  • Drink water. Fluids soften everything, why not stool?
  • Exercise. Muscles are what push out stool. Make your muscles stronger.
  • Avoid processed foods. (Remember the wings I had?)

Follow some of these tips and your rear end will thank you!

Check out some of these great articles for more information:

7 thoughts on “Taboo Topic: Constipation

  1. You’re right, Grace. I’ll talk about my weight (I’m planning to in my next post, actually.) and my finances (Easy… I’m a journalist. I have none.). But my bum is taboo. Unless you want to tell me how good it’s looking these days. 😉

  2. Pingback: The Numbers on the Scale « Lean Girls Club

  3. Pingback: Topics Women Like To Talk About | Trends Pics

  4. Bonjour tout d’abord bravo pour votre site que j’ai parcouru avec plaisir. cet article a retenu tout mon attention car je le trouve bien r�dig� et tres int�ressant. d’habitude je ne commente pas les sites mais aujourd’hui je prends quelques instants pour le faire. Je vous contacterais pour faire un �change de lien avec mon propre site. En esp�rant vous lire bientot.

  5. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

  6. Someone essentially help to make significantly posts I might state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this actual put up amazing. Wonderful activity!

Leave a Reply

