P90X

 

P90X is the latest craze in home fitness programs. It’s a 90 day strength training and nutrition program that you follow for 90 days. According to the website, “P90X uses targeted training phases so your body keeps adapting and growing. You’ll never ‘plateau’- which means your body will never get used to the routines.” In one word, muscle confusion. All you need are dumbbells or resistance bands, a pull up bar, and a chair.

While I’m still working out on my own, I decided that this was the week to try it out. Two of my guy friends have raved about it and I’ve noticed a difference in both their appearances. Both are leaner (especially in the midsection) and claim to have buffer arms.

(Note to self: research why it’s important for men to have big arms)

I didn’t follow the program to a tee this week. P90X has you working out for 60 – 75 minutes, six days a week consecutively and resting on Sunday. I thought it’d be too X-treme for me to work out six times in addition to my regular boot camp workouts and yoga. Trainer Tony Horton hasn’t reinvented the wheel. He has just given the exercises that time and time again have been proven to work a mini-makeover: push ups, pull ups, jumping jacks, crunches, bicep curls, etc. And then you do them over and over, pushing yourself to the limit. Tony encourages you to do as many as you can, but also pushes you to beat your last number. There’s a quantifiable goal to work towards, not just a ripped body.

Pros:

  • Do it at home
  • Only 60-75 minutes
  • Various DVDs so you don’t get bored. The P90X program outlines exactly what dvd to play on what day.
  • Muscle fatigue. You feel like you worked out, without feeling like you got beat up.
  • LOVE the Ab Ripper X workout

Cons:

  • I don’t have a pull up bar
  • Didn’t get my heart rate up (this is just the first phase)
  • Tony is REALLY cheesy
  • Lots of breaks

Do you ever feel as though you can do 100 crunches a day but nothing changes? As I mentioned above, the one thing I absolutely LOVE is the Ab Ripper X workout that you do 3 times a week. I have always neglected my core because it’s painful, but Tony makes this 15 minute session interesting enough that you don’t focus on the pain as much. Ab Ripper X makes me WANT to work my core because I know it’ll help me get the results I want. The Ab Ripper X is where it’s at!

Stay tuned for more on the different phases of P90X and my progress on the program. For now, enjoy a little taste of Tony.

5 thoughts on “P90X

  1. This infomercial was on one of the flat screens at the gym while I was on the treadmill. I’ve also heard a lot success stories associated with this program (outside of the infomercial) and want to try it but it sounds really expensive and i don’t think our apartment is big enough. I think it’s one of those things I might get to try once we have a house one day. I’ve heard that a lot of couples do it together – that sounds fun too but I can’t see Matt doing a fitness video!

  2. I like the 10-Minute Workout videos — I am none so extreme! I hadn’t even heard of the P90X videos until recently when my roommate got them. Now I’m going to have to try that Ab Ripper workout… Mostly, I just wanted to say KUDOS TO YOU, because I read your post about how much you disliked working your abs!

Leave a Reply

