Pain

One area that I’ve always been insecure about is my midsection. I’ve just always been an apple shape. Any extra weight has always gone directly to my stomach. But when I go to the gym, I NEVER work out my midsection. Instead, I resort to bicep curls, lunges, squats, running…anything BUT crunches. Why? Because I know it’s painful. They’re hard. And I feel like I could do 100 crunches and I’ll never seen a difference. So I avoid them.

Have you ever looked back on your life and evaluated times of growth? The times of growth don’t always come in times when the money is flowing or the career is good but rather when you’ve gone through something painful. Change doesn’t come without the discomfort. But like life, we’re always glad when it’s over not because we’re back to being uncomfortable, but because we are better off for it. We are stronger.

So the next time you struggle to get through 10 crunches like me, focus and take pride in the fact that the discomfort and pain is what will bring change. A flag should almost go off in your head if you don’t feel discomfort because it probably means that you’re not working hard enough.

Leave a Reply

